Endowed Chairs

Endowed Chairs

Western Connecticut Health Network’s guiding philosophy of medical excellence and compassionate care is deeply rooted in our ties to the community and is fueled by the community’s philanthropic investment in its facilities, programs and patient services. 

Endowed chairs enable us to attract and retain the highest quality clinicians, foster innovation, scholarship and research, and fund important and creative projects that imagine and shape the future.

Through the establishment of an endowed chair, the endowed chair donors become part of the fabric of Western Connecticut Health Network, leaving a legacy of caring while honoring an outstanding medical professional for his or her accomplishments.  Endowed chairs are established with a minimum gift of $1 million, providing a perpetual source of funding from investment earnings while maintaining the principal.

Our Endowed Chairs

Fred and Irma Bering Endowed Chair in Laparoscopic Surgery

Carmen L. and Peter Buck Endowed Chair in Surgery

Linda and Stephen R. Cohen Endowed Chair in Vascular Services

Ervie and Carolyn Hawley Endowed Chair in Orthopaedic Spine Surgery

Beatrice Hofstadter White Endowed Chair for Nursing Education

Harold and Cora Spratt Endowed Chair in Colon and Rectal Surgery

Rudy and Sally Ruggles Endowed Chief of Cancer Research

Christian J. Trefz Family Endowed Chair in Global Health